When Death Comes Suddenly

When death comes suddenly. When you don’t expect it, when there are no signs or any reference to it, yet it comes. It comes and takes the life of a loved one. This one might mean something to somebody and nothing to another, yet it comes. It comes whether you like or not. It comes whether you are prepared for it or not. It comes whether you think of it or not. It comes whether you believe in the afterlife or not. It just comes. But when it comes suddenly what do we usually do?

When death comes suddenly, like when there are no signs of it, when there is no sickness, no medications, no weakness, nothing bad… When you see life is flowing in that person yet all of sudden in a blink of an eye that person falls to the ground. You run to her, wake up you scream, you perform CPR, you do everything you can do yet no heartbeat, no breath, nothing. How is this possible? Why is this happening? We were just sitting. We just arrived from this vacation. We were just having such a good time. What the heaven just happened????

When death comes suddenly, when it takes someone dear to you without knocking the door, what do you think? Will you think of yourself? Will you see yourself in that position? What would happen if this happens to me? When would this happen to me? What shall I do to prevent death? Is there any hope? Will my life end like this – all of a sudden? Will I even get the chance to say my goodbyes to my loved ones or will I pass away before their eyes while they stand right there gazing at me hopeless, powerless?

When death comes suddenly, you see yourself breathing your last with one question crossing your mind “Now what?” When death comes suddenly you ask yourself “What’s next?” When death comes suddenly you ask yourself “Have I lived a good life?” When death comes suddenly you ask yourself “Were those decisions worth it?” When death comes suddenly you ask yourself “Where am I heading now? What will happen to me?”

When death comes suddenly you remember to pray “Oh God have mercy on me”. When death comes suddenly life loses its taste and all you can see and feel is grief. When death comes suddenly all you want to do is repent and ask for forgiveness because you want to be ready for that moment. You remember that God is a just judge, one who doesn’t receive bribe. When death comes suddenly you are filled with fear and desperation. “Oh who can save me from this body of sin” you would cry with the apostle Paul. Then the answer would come few phrases later, “It is the grace of God that saved me freely.”

Receive God’s gift of eternal life by grace through faith, ask Him to save you and believe it with all your heart that you are saved by His grace and His grace alone because then and only then you will be able to stand when death comes suddenly.

3 thoughts on “When Death Comes Suddenly

  1. Beautiful and touching. I enjoyed reading it and I felt a new anointing in your writing. More love more truth intimate direction. It is like you are just talking to that one reading. My condolences again to you and I think this devotion is your great payback to what happened.

Leave a Reply

